Recently I have been curious about creating resumes. I am in search of scholarships and many of them require scholarship resumes and cover letters. Then I received the assignment in class to research tips for creating cover letters. Unfortunately, Winway Resume does not run for Macs so I searched tips online. Advanced Resume Concepts and Resume-Help are the two sites I used to get information for this blog. Having an outstanding cover letter along with a 

I also figured if I did not know a lot about cover letters there is a lot of other students who don’t know much about it. Here are a few tips on creating and personalizing the perfect cover letter.

  • Explain what you can do for the employer. It is important to meet their needs and not your own.
  • Impress employers with your qualifications and relevant experiences, not with fancy language
  • The cover letter should have a natural flow with a conversational tone, but it should stay professional
  • It should stay one page and between three to five paragraphs, which means…
  • brevity and keeping it to the point is key
  • A summary of the resumé in the cover letter is unacceptable. It should be an introduction and argument why you are the best candidate for the company and the position
  • Don’t forget to address the letter to a specific person.

Hopefully, these tips help you land the dream job!

